Post for all Platform

The MOT test is famous in the UK for a reason. This test makes sure that your vehicle is safe to drive on the road. Every vehicle in the UK must pass the MOT test. Driving a car without an MOT certificate is illegal and can cost you some hefty amount of fine.

So how and when this test came into effect? What is its history? All these questions will be answered in this blog.

This test was first introduced in the year 1960 under the Road Traffic Act 1956. In the beginning, the test comprised the checking of some basic vehicle components like brakes, steering, and lights. During that time vehicles older than 10 years were made to give the test. Those vehicles younger than 10 years could be driven without it. The test was known as the ten-year test or the Ministry of Transport test.

In 1961, the testing age of vehicles was changed to 7 years and in 1967 it was further reduced to 3 years. Finally, in 1983 the age for testing ambulances, taxis, and vehicles consisting of 8 or more seats was changed to 1 year.

The Ministry has been adding new components to check during the test. The following are the changes made over the past few years.

1968: Tyre check

1977: Windscreen wipers, brake lights, direction indicators, horns, brakes, exhaust emissions, vehicle body condition began to be checked.

1991: Petrol vehicles had to be checked for emissions, rear wheel bearings, rear-wheel steering, and rear seat belts were also checked.

1992: A new and tougher rule to check the tread depth was introduced.

1994: Emission check for diesel-run vehicles

2005: Computerised system used for issuing non-secure test certificates.

2012: components like secondary restraint systems, battery, wiring, ESC, speedometers and steering locks were checked.

The MOT test has been divided into various classes:

Class I: Motorcycles up to 200 ccs.

Class II: All kinds of motorcycles with or without sidecars.

Class III: 3 wheelers that weigh not more than 450 kg.

Class IV: Cars, all 3 wheeler cars, ambulances, taxis, and minibuses having 12 seats, Good carrying vehicles weighing not more than 3000 kg.

Class V: Private cars, ambulance, motor caravans and vehicles containing more than 13 seats.

Class VI: Public Service Vehicles used for hiring and has 8 or more seats.

Class VII: Good carrying vehicles weighing over 3000 kg and including 3500 kg DGW.

The MOT Test Finchley is an annual test and its main objective is to ensure the safety of the drivers. The test can only be passed if the owner keeps the vehicle in good condition. If your vehicle fails the test, you will have to get it rescheduled and pass it.

It is advised to clean and repair your vehicle before attempting the MOT test. Once you fail the test, it calls for an entire procedure that may sometimes become hectic for working people. Certain rules need to be followed for a retest. To save your time, it is better to be attentive towards your vehicle.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *